Four Saskatchewan MLAs became ministers for the first time as Premier Brad Wall shuffled his cabinet Tuesday.

“In the April election, we were fortunate that voters elected a number of very talented and capable new MLAs, creating the opportunity for renewal in our government,” Wall said in a news release.

“The new cabinet will have a strong blend of experience and new faces and will serve Saskatchewan well as we work to meet the opportunities and challenges facing our province.”

Five MLAs are entering cabinet, including four who are becoming ministers for the first time:

• Tina Beaudry-Mellor is minister of social services and minister responsible for the status of women

• Dave Marit is minister of highways and infrastructure

• Bronwyn Eyre is minister of advanced education

• Joe Hargrave is minister of Crown Investments Corporation, Saskatchewan Government Insurance and Saskatchewan Transportation Company

• Ken Cheveldayoff is re-entering cabinet as minister of parks, culture and sport and minister responsible for the Public Service Commission

Veteran MLA Don Morgan has been named Saskatchewan’s new deputy premier. The appointment comes following Don McMorris’ resignation from the post earlier this month after he was charged with impaired driving. Morgan will continue to serve as education minister and minister of labour.

“Don Morgan has always been a leader in our government's caucus and cabinet,” Wall said.

“His sound judgment and the respect he has earned among his colleagues made Don the clear choice for deputy premier.”

Six ministers are changing portfolios:

• Jim Reiter is now minister of health

• Donna Harpauer is now minister of government relations and minister responsible for First Nations, Métis and northern affairs

• Dustin Duncan is now minister of energy and resources and minister responsible for SaskTel and SaskEnergy

• Jeremy Harrison is now minister of the economy, minister responsible for the Global Transportation Hub and minister responsible for Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority

• Scott Moe is now minister of environment, minister responsible for Saskatchewan Water Corporation and minister responsible for the Saskatchewan Water Security Agency

• Christine Tell is now minister of Central Services, minister responsible for Saskatchewan Gaming Corporation and minister responsible for the Provincial Capital Commission.

Four other ministers will retain their current cabinet responsibilities:

• Finance Minister Kevin Doherty

• Agriculture Minister Lyle Stewart

• Rural and Remote Health Minister Greg Ottenbreit

• Justice and SaskBuilds Minister Gordon Wyant, whose justice responsibilities will now also include corrections and policing. In addition, Wyant is now minister responsible for SaskPower.

The size of cabinet has been reduced by one minister to 17, including the premier. Wall noted that represents about a five per cent reduction in the size of cabinet and will save taxpayers about $450,000 a year.

“We are looking for about five per cent in savings across government in order to balance the budget,” Wall said.

“While reducing the size of cabinet amounts to a small savings compared to the size of the overall budget, I thought it was important to start at the top as we look to reduce the costs to taxpayers all across government.”

Nadine Wilson will continue to serve as provincial secretary and legislative secretary to the premier. Wall appointed eight other legislative secretaries:

• Mark Docherty - legislative secretary to the premier (immigration and culture)

• Jennifer Campeau - legislative secretary to the minister of education (First Nations student achievement)

• Lisa Lambert - legislative secretary to the minister of education (curriculum development and consultation)

• Lori Carr - legislative secretary to the minister responsible for SaskPower (renewable and sustainable energy)

• Fred Bradshaw - legislative secretary to the minister of environment (forestry and wildfire management)

• Hugh Nerlien - legislative secretary to the minister responsible for the Public Service Commission (public sector bargaining)

• Steven Bonk - legislative secretary to the minister of the economy (export development)

• Warren Kaeding - legislative secretary to the minister of agriculture (irrigation expansion)

Paul Merriman is the new government house leader and Greg Lawrence has been appointed government whip.

“The priorities of the new cabinet will be keeping Saskatchewan's economy strong while carefully managing the province's finances through this challenging time,” Wall said.

“I am confident we have the right group of women and men to meet this challenge and keep Saskatchewan strong.”