REGINA -- The Saskatchewan Party, which currently holds government in the province, has disclosed six candidates who have been convicted of impaired driving.

The party said it disclosed the list in the interest of transparency, as the next provincial election approaches. The criminal records of candidates were discussed during the most recent provincial election campaign in 2016.

“Criminal record checks are part of the Saskatchewan Party’s candidate disclosure process. In the interest of transparency, the Saskatchewan Party is disclosing that six candidates have had impaired driving convictions,” the party said in a news release.

Four of the members listed are current MLAs, whose criminal records were already disclosed. The remaining two are new candidates. Two of the MLAs listed have two convictions.

The Sask Party provided the name, constituteny and year of the offense:

  • Terry Dennis, MLA for Canora-Pelly (1978, 2001)
  • Don McMorris, MLA for Indian Head-Milestone (2016)
  • Terry Jenson, Martensville-Warman (1994)
  • Scott Moe, premier and MLA for Rosthern-Shellbrook (1992)
  • Manny Sadhra, Saskatoon Fairview (2008)
  • Eric Olauson, MLA for Saskatoon University (1992, 1993)

In an email to CTV News, the opposition NDP said it would be disclosing this information about its candidates prior to the campaign.