The first of Regina's three new joint-use schools officially opened Monday morning.

The facility will be shared by the public Ecole Harbour Landing School and the St. Keteri Tekakwitha Catholic School in the city’s south end.

The two schools are designed to accommodate 1,100 students.

The facility one of 18 joint-use elementary schools being built through public-private partnership in Regina, Saskatoon, Martensville and Warman.

The province is spending $635 million on the project, including the cost of construction and maintenance of the schools over the next 30 years.