Three city councilors in Moose Jaw have been sanctioned following a third-party investigation.

The investigation found councillors Brian Swanson, Scott McMann and Crystal Froese failed in their duty as downtown facilities and fieldhouse board members to deal with a serious personnel matter.

Moose Jaw mayor Fraser Tolmie, along with councillors Dawn Luhning and Chris Warren, voted unanimously to impose the sanctions.

All three councillors will be barred from the position of deputy mayor and chair or vice chair of any standing committee.

Swanson will not get direct access to confidential reports, except those available for review in the city clerk's office.

Froese and McMann will see their sanctions expire in 2019, while Swanson’s sanction will remain in effect until the end of his term.